Best Pump/Paddle for Shredder/Culebra - Mountain Buzz

Old 09-27-2011   #1

Florianópolis, Santa Catarina, Brazil
Paddling Since: 1999
Best Pump/Paddle for Shredder/Culebra

Rolled through Aztec NM last week and bought a Culebra (Jack's Plastic Welding's answer to the Shredder).

I haven't purchased a pump yet and as I'm new to inflatables (dolls excluded) I'm not sure what size, style, and brand of barrel pump to get.

Basically I want to pump to be large enough to do the job, but small enough to store on this smaller craft.

Does anyone have any recommendations? Carlson, AIRE?

I'm not planning on getting a "top-off" pump (ie EZ pump or K pump) unless it is recommended.

I'm also open to advice on t-grip rafting paddles. Since I intend to check my Culebra on as luggage I'd like to find a break down paddle that is easier to check than the standard 5 foot Carlisle Outfitter paddle.

The only one I can find is the Caviness JP series paddle. I like that it breaks down, but I'm worried it is too cheap and would get destroyed in whitewater.
CavinessPaddles - Caviness® Synthetic Paddles
I hear aquabound makes a breakdown t grip but they are pricey.

Any R2ers have any thoughts? Thanks

Geoff

boneboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-27-2011   #2

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1901
I have a 13' raft, and I bought the 31" Wild Water Aqua Lung top-off pump. They sell a slightly smaller one, as well. I think these are cheaper than the Carlson or Aire pumps, and every bit as good.

Wild Water Pumps | Our Products