Axiom VS Villain - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-11-2011   #1

West Linn, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2006
Axiom VS Villain

I am a beginner class 2+ fair weather yaker and would like your opinion on these 2 boats. I currently own 2 hybrid boats an approach 10 and a remix 10.
I am hoping this year to try some class 3 stuff and learn to roll and surf.

I demo'd the Villain (not the small) on class 2 one weekend and after 8 hrs down river I got into a hairy situation (was not looking) ended up almost killing myself on these 2 big rocks that looked more like pillars. Well the Villain (not me) saved my bacon. Leaned left and right (prob with my eyes closed) and woosh I did this cool slalom arround both rocks. It musta looked real cool cus the good folks drinking on the side of the river cheered me like I was some kinda pro.
Anyway, I kinda feel I owe it to the Villain (not to mention the nice ppl at adler creek) to buy this boat.
As far as river running goes, I dont think I need a better boat then the Villain but I have read good things about this Axiom how its a hybrid boat, that is a play /creek / river runner. If I ever wanted to surf and play not sure if the Villain is any good in that department.

alikair is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-12-2011   #2

Parys, Freestate
Paddling Since: 2007
If you are looking for the ideal kayak that can run, creek and play in you should have a look at the Fluid Detox. The Detox hull incorporates a variation of the Nemesis rail system with super forgiving sidewalls and generous kick rocker to create an exciting but very stable ride. It surfs waves like a charm, catches must-make eddies with ease, runs creeks like a creekboat, runs big volume runs like a playboat. What more can you ask for?