Another newbie boat question - sorry! - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-06-2006   #1
Swimmer

Golden, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2006
Another newbie boat question - sorry!

Hey,

I am fairly new to kayaking, and a ways off buying my own boat quite yet, but wanted to start looking around, seeing what I might want to get.

I'm kinda short... don't know my exact hight/weight but would be guessing 130lbs and maybe 5'2''. Been paddling a Dagger GT mostly, which works great for now, but if I was going to get my own boat I was leaning towards something a little shorter, more of a playboat. Someone recomended the Juice, but wuld like to know what other people think.

Also, if I was looking at getting a used boat, could someone give me an idea of what sort of price range I would be looking at?

Thank you.

Oopps is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-06-2006   #2
gh

pnw, Colorado
I would skip the juice and look at the rx, ezg, stretch, fun series. I would say 600 for a newer used boat, 350 for an older used boat.
gh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2006   #3

Lakewood, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1985
I have the juice 6.9. It was definitely a good choice, but I think the RX is a better option. Its like the Juice, but has some more play like a Kingpin. I got a chance to paddle one the other day and it was faster and seemed a bit more stable.

Just to clarify, I'm comfortable in III's but don't have a good roll yet, so the more proficent paddlers might have a different take.
Sam F is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-06-2006   #4
Swimmer

Golden, Colorado
Thanks for suggestions - I did try the Rx and didn't like it that much, but it might have been because the boat was way too big for me as much as anything else. Will see if I can try a smaller one.