Aluminum Dutch Ovens - Mountain Buzz

Old 10-06-2010   #1

C. Springs, Colorado
Aluminum Dutch Ovens

I just bought an aluminum dutch oven. My question is does it need to be seasoned like a cast iron one? If so, how is the best way to do this. I bought one of the hard anodised ones.

caverdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-06-2010   #2

Unincorporated Douglas County, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
No seasoning needed. No special treatment. Just wash it like any other cookware. Use a metal spatula to scrap it, if you wish. Heat and a little water works best if something is stuck on. I always put a thin coat of oil on the inside before cooking. I use parchment paper in the bottom if I'm doing cakes or cinnamon rolls.
Old 10-06-2010   #3

Jenks, Oklahoma
DO feed back

I am a long time DO cook.

Welcome to the DO club and hopefully you and your floating buds will enjoy lots of good meals from your DO.

Cast Iron DO's are in my opinion, the best cookers out there. But, they weigh a lot, require much more care in washing and storage than the aluminum DO's.

Several years ago, I discovered the GSI hard anodized aluminum DO's.

For river trips, these DO's have become my standby units. Reason being they can be washed and put away just like any cooking utensil. Much easier to carry and store. The hard anodized DO's do not cook for me as well as a well seasoned cast iron DO does, but they come pretty darn close. These days, most all my DO cooking is in the hard anodized GSI units.

For cooking biscuits or cornbread, my all time favorite is cast iron. I can do them in hard anodized DO's but they just do not seem to brown off as well as cast iron.