AE StraitEdge1 Vs Sevylor SK100DS - Mountain Buzz

Old 10-05-2010   #1

ipoh, Malaysia
Paddling Since: 2010
AE StraitEdge1 Vs Sevylor SK100DS

Hi All!

I'm interested in buying a whitewater kayak and i have narrowed down to the above 2. Advanced Elements StraitEdge1 and Sevylor SK100DC 1 person.

Any on you have prior experience / knowledge in whether either one of these is better? Thanks

chris

kojak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-05-2010   #2

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Send a message via Yahoo to al_ferguson01
I have the Sevylor SK100DC and can say it is a hella-tough boat - for an IK. Lots of fun in Class III and bigger (if you can accept the risks)... doesn't roll worth a crap (or, I can't roll in it worth a crap but I do have a great hardshell roll). I have no experience with the other brand. IKs are a lot of fun. I prefer hardshell but I have both. They are really great for <III+ water, very portable, and for folks that might be just getting started in Kayaking (or don't care to dedicate the time needed to learn the roll). You are interested in just IKs and not Hardshell?
al_ferguson01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010   #3
God Amongst Men

Phuoc My, Da Nang, THE 'NAM
Paddling Since: 1845
i have raged my svx100 for three seasons now and have loved every second with it. ive taken it down bigwater and ELF and it responds well to both. ive had to patch it a few times but its held up remarkably well for the shit i bash it down. love the internal floor chamber. you can supposedly roll it with straps but i prefer to swim and self rescue. its tough, sturdy, nimble, folds down small, sets up easy, and is generally very very fun. it is low profile so expect to get wet. the only cons i can think of is it gets overmatched in steep big water (over 60 fpm) and a lack of storage space for overnighters. otherwise, awesome.
Advertisement

Old 10-05-2010   #4
Plunk your magic twanger!

New Castle, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999