Advice on safest, best kayak for class IV - Mountain Buzz

Old 10-26-2013   #1

Ft. Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2010
Advice on safest, best kayak for class IV

Hi all:

I am a class 2-3 kayaker looking for the the best and safest kayak to do class IV runs.

My background is that I run class 2-3 stuff (Bridges at low water for example) with a wavesport EZG 42(river runner/playboat). I get really intimidated if I run something like Bridges at higher water or Arkansas Browns canyon run with the EZG. I also have an old 1990's perception corsica overflow that I use for Bridges at high water and its is more stable for me. The hardest thing I have run is Poudre park and the brown's canyon at low water.

I have mediocre skills (advanced beginner?). I can usually do a combat role with the perception overflow, with the EZG it is more difficult and sometimes I have to try two or three times or wet exit.

I am about 5-5 138 pound male. My prerequisites are:

1) very safe
2) easy to roll - at least as easy as the perception corsica and maybe easier if possible
3) I am not sure if I want one with displacement hull or planing hull
4) I will probably never run class V - but interested in being able to run Poudre Park (pine view falls), Browns Canyon, Northgate Canyon on N. Platte and some other runs might include things like Avalanche to BRB on the Crystal River and the Lower Taos Box on the rio grande.

Would you recommend a creek boat or river runner (I am going to keep my small playboat for easy runs) for the runs the mentioned above?

Displacement or planning hull?

Any boats you would recommend for me - I will probably get a used boat. Also I saw a good deal on a Jackson Punk Rocker - does that sound a good boat for me.

Thanks a lot,

Chris

outwash is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-26-2013   #2

Westminster, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2008