2013 Dagger Mamba 8.1 set-up - Mountain Buzz

Old 09-01-2013   #1

Hayesville, North Carolina
Paddling Since: 2009
2013 Dagger Mamba 8.1 set-up

Guys I'm new to whitewater kayaking and I need some advice on correct seat position placement and just general rule of thumb whitewater kayak set-up is. I know people say it's an individual thing but if you don't know what your looking for how do you know when you've hit the sweet spot. I'm 5'10" and weight 170 so I figure the Mamba 8.1 is the correct size boat. I live about 40 minutes from Nantahala river in WNC so that's where I'll be doing 90% of my kayaking. Currently my mamba is set with every adjustment in the middle....the bolt in front of the seat is in the middle of the slot and the 2 ea. side seat bolts are set to where the hull molded drops are flush with the slotted seat adjustment. My problem is I'm getting upside down a lot more than I should be. My kayak buddies are also newbie's and have boats fairly similar to mine except maybe for a few more gallons in volume, but when we hit some of the bigger holes like Patton's run my boat wants to stand straight up and usually dumps me and theirs don't seem to do that. The 3 buddies have a Jackson super hero, Jackson Zen, and a Jackson Villain....did I buy the wrong boat? probably not. Do I need to adjust the seat position maybe? I just need to know what to look for in boat response if the seat is to for forward of center or what happens while paddling if the seat is to far back? I just don't have enough WW paddling experience to know these things. Any paddlers out there that has experience with the new 2013 dagger mamba 8.1 seat position it would help me get started dialing my boat in to me if you would let me know what seat position you found works best for you. I would greatly appreciate it.

petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-02-2013   #2

Arvada, Colorado