1-3/8" EMT Pipe For Frame Build - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-13-2012   #1

Shingle Springs, California
Paddling Since: 1992
1-3/8" EMT Pipe For Frame Build

Hi -
I am going to build a new frame for my 14' wing. In the past I have always used 2" EMT tube and borrowed an industrial pipe bender.

I am new to this form, and have been reading allot of the frame build threads trying to fine ture and pick up new ideas. It looks like alAlot of people are using the 1-3/8 top rail EMT for their steel frame builds. This would be lighter and I have a 1-1/4 (I think it will work) pipe bender so it would be easy.

I am going to build a welded standard three bay with cooler in the front, and sitting on the dry box in the back. In the past I have ran pipe runners, on the bottom (Just above the floor) from the front to the back with welded drop pipe supports from the cooler and dry box support. This way I just set the cooler and the dry box on the bottom pipes and strap the top to the cross bars.

So may questions are:

1. Are there any worries about heavy loads with the 1-3/8" pipe?
2. Should I run a double rail down the tubes for added strength?
3. Should I not put the bottom support pipe and hang the cooler and drybox and if so do you have to worry about the coolers and dry boxes bending this pipe or use heavier pipe in these locations?
4. It seems like everyone is hanging the heavy items (Coolers and dryboxe) rather than using welded pipe rails to support them, what is the thought behind this, is it a pin thing?

Thanks for all the info I have already poached out of the threads.

Chris

Spanky is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-14-2012   #2

La Grande, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1984
1" Frames