New owners on upper South Boulder Creek - Mountain Buzz

Old 11-04-2011   #1

Golden, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1986
New owners on upper South Boulder Creek

I recently found out, the hard way, that the land above the private fishing club, Lincoln Hills, was purchased up to Rollinsville by that club. I ran into the owner ( Matthew Burkett) while out fly fishing, as I have been doing for the past 20 years. The encounter went from bad to worse and he was very clear that anyone that was on the property would have the Gilpin County Sheriff called and the club would actively prosecute the violators. Matt was very aware of Colorado water laws and of course it is fine to boat through the property but once on the bottom of the river bed or on the shore boaters will be arrested. Thus swimming or scouting are illegal, and he is sure to prosecute in those instances.Two years ago there was a large tree that spanned the entire river below the last major drops. I did look and the tree had been cut at the base and was purposefully dropped into the river (he had no comment on that when I brought it up during our encounter), thus creating an unavoidable hazard. I hope more of these hazards don't occur in the near future. My encounter eventually ended in another meeting with a '
"security" guard and finally with a Gilpin County Sheriff (the sheriff was by far the most reasonable of my encounters).
Since this time I began asking more questions of the locals on in the South Beaver Creek area and across the river from Lincoln Hill club. They are currently fighting battle after battle for the land on the opposite side or the creek and the club is claiming ownership of both sides of the river, and erecting fences along the river and around structures that have been owned and maintained for over 50 years by these local people.