Middle Fork Rules - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-18-2018   #1

Middle Fork Rules

Does anyone know whether there are rules on the middle fork about splitting groups? I recently saw this article in current issue of Outside Magazine in which “Far and Away Adventures” boasts that they routinely send their sweep/gear boat ahead to snag a campsite, set up the tents, start dinner and “happy hour is well under way”.

On some rivers, this behaviour is prohibited. Is this standard commercial behaviour?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0F606113-0964-43FC-B941-70DBBEC72382.jpeg
Views:	156
Size:	2.85 MB
ID:	31345  

Aeb501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-18-2018   #2

Salt Lake City, Utah
Paddling Since: 1987
I am not a MFS expert by any means but the sweep boats travel a lot faster than your average raft. Good luck keeping up with them!

All camp sites are assigned/reserved with the rangers so they are not going ahead to "snag" a camp. It is standard to see them out ahead of the rest of their group.
unlucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2018   #3
Shapp

the grove, Oregon
Paddling Since: 1986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aeb501 View Post
Does anyone know whether there are rules on the middle fork about splitting groups? I recently saw this article in current issue of Outside Magazine in which “Far and Away Adventures” boasts that they routinely send their sweep/gear boat ahead to snag a campsite, set up the tents, start dinner and “happy hour is well under way”.

On some rivers, this behaviour is prohibited. Is this standard commercial behaviour?