WW in AZ - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-25-2018   #1

Sierra Vista, Arizona
Paddling Since: 2018
WW in AZ

Hello,

I'm new to white water rand recently moved to Arizona. Yes I know not the greatest state for white water but hey at least its sunny year round. I'm trying to see if I can find some locals who would be willing to take a newbie or two with them to learn. I did the lower salt this past weekend with a group and went through pinball which was nice.

Kayak: Liquid Logic Remix 69.

Freefallfrom10k is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-26-2018   #2

Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
Lol, I don't think "Pinball" on the lower Salt qualifies as whitewater.... but hey, you have to start somewhere!

Unfortunately you chose one of the worst seasons on record to move to Arizona for boating. Last winter was a different story with a very healthy runoff in February and March..... and then you can get good flows in Monsoon season as well, but they are generally isolated, short lived events. The main drainages in the state are the Gila, Salt, Verde and Colorado. There are some mellow floats on the Verde at low flow above the Beasley Flats access that would probably be your speed.

There is a fairly healthy whitewater community in Arizona, mostly based out of the Flagstaff/Sedona/Camp Verde/Phoenix corridor, and there are a few of them that frequent this forum. I would suggest hooking up with a group like the Southern Arizona Paddlers Club and going from there. Here is a link to their website:

Home -

Good luck!
lmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018   #3

Sierra Vista, Arizona
Paddling Since: 2018
I'm actually in that group already. ive noticed people like to go out at 8am but I live three hours south of phoenix and the earliest I can make it up there is 10 am unless I drive up the night before. ill post in there asking. with monsoon season starting soon it cant be a bad time to find some people who seek the thrill of WW