Wrist pain with new paddle - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-10-2018   #1
Total Newb

Grants Pass, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2010
Wrist pain with new paddle

Hey Gang,

Quick background, I've been IK'ing for about 9 years and used a straight shaft with zero twist and everything was peachy. This last summer I started with a hardshell kayak and continued to use a straight shaft, zero angle paddle and that has been great.

Last week I decided to buy a Werner powerhouse, bent shaft R30 and I've taken it out on the river twice now and both times I start to get wrist pain in my right wrist (main hand) within a half hour or so. Very frustrating as I love the feel of the paddle and especially the blade in the water.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

ScottM is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-10-2018   #2

Bazzaro, Free
Paddling Since: 2020
Hummm??? wrist pain. mmmmm. well all I can say is you need to cycle through paddles until you find the one.

It could be the shaft diameter? Blade shape? Maybe your still too "gripped" with your hold on the different paddle. Maybe your a 0 degree guy.

Did you stretch you hands out real good?

Could be a number of things combined.

Good luck.
Old 04-11-2018   #3
Total Newb

Grants Pass, Oregon
I think I'm going to try eliminating the R30 variable. My son has a straight shaft R30 which I'll try this weekend. I wish Werner would make R0 paddles available without it being a custom order!

And FYI, I'm pretty good about doing warm ups before setting out.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2018   #4

Bazzaro, Free
Paddling Since: 2020
Just my gut feeling. I really can diagnose over the internets. I think your too gripped. Its supper common with a new paddle. I say stay with the same paddle for at least 3 floats. Let your grip relax and give the guns so time to adjust.
Old 04-11-2018   #5

Sacramento, California
Paddling Since: 2012