Which boat should I get? - Mountain Buzz

Old 06-13-2018   #1

Which boat should I get?

Hey all,

I'm brand new to the kayaking scene. After 6 days on the Middle Fork, I'm hooked! My background is rock climbing and mountaineering, so I need some help picking my first boat.

I'm 6'1", 170 lbs, size 13 shoes and 32" inseam. Thoughts?

Eric

Rufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-13-2018   #2

Steamboat, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
Do you mean hard shell whitewater kayak or were you in an inflatable kayak (IK) on the MF? Assuming hard shell whitewater kayak, lots of research and figuring out what the end goal of boating will be for you. If you have a local shop or guiding service - go chat them up.

I like Leland's article to help the boat conversation:

https://community.nrs.com/duct-tape/...tewater-kayak/
kayakfreakus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2018   #3

Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Definitely a playboat they teach good fundamentals and are great for an all around boat you can keep when you advance maybe a newer Fun or a jitsu (can’t spell) rockstars are great but really pricy
ColoradoKayak15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-15-2018   #4

Sacramento, California
Paddling Since: 2012
From my experience, playboats teach you just as many bad fundamentals as they help. I don't recommend you use anything shorter than a Fun to start. I personally would recommend a standard sized river-runner to start, and maybe get a playboat in a year or 2. Ultimately, both types of boats will force you to learn different sets of skills. I recommend the river-runner first, because it's more stable. Having a more stable boat early on builds confidence to continue.