what knot should I use for tie down - Mountain Buzz

Old 09-20-2011   #1

San Jose, California
Paddling Since: 1
what knot should I use for tie down

Hi all,

I'm new to whitewater rafting and knots tying. We have to tie the D-ring from the thwart to the D-ring on the main tube. While rafting last time, the knot became undone after a few rapids. I would like to learn the name of the knots (or type of knots) you guys use so I can google it for picture. Thanks in advance!

niluso is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-20-2011   #2

Carbondale, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1990
Well you can't really ever go wrong with a bowline, although I can't really picture what your application is? Usually, there is a pin system for attaching thwarts to tubes.
rjacober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011   #3

Littleton, Colorado
Paddling Since: 98
sounds like a job for the clove hitch
slavetotheflyrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-20-2011   #4

Carbondale, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1990
I concur
rjacober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011   #5
aka The Curmudgeon

Hopelessly Stuck in Yesterday, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1994
I'm having trouble picturing your situation as well. If it really is D ring to D ring, why not use regular cam straps? In my older boats, thwarts were attached with narrow, flat nylon strap. If that is the case, the only knot that works well for flat or tubular strap is the Ring Knot, also known as the Water Knot.
water knot - Google Search
captishmael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011   #6
aka The Curmudgeon

Hopelessly Stuck in Yesterday, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1994
Be careful when using the clove hitch. Useful as it is, and one of my favorite knots, the clove hitch should only be used when the load end is under a constant strain. It can loosen under load/unload cycles.
captishmael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011   #7

Durango, Colorado