Suggestions for the Ark please... - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-20-2009   #1

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1978
Suggestions for the Ark please...

Hi all,

I'm a long time lurker/new poster and have always found this board helpful and entertaining.

I have a question about an Ark float. I have someone who has sent me a lot of referrals, and she and her husband would like me to take them on a float. They are total newbies and a bit freaked about some of the recent deaths on the Ark, but will be in the area and are wanting to float the Ark, otherwise I'd just do Rancho to State Bridge on the CO.

They asked for an "easy" float, I even think the husband even asked for a "easy river" type experience , so I'm in a bit of a quandary. I want them to have fun and not freak them out, any suggestions?

I was thinking Vallie Bridge to Cotopaxi, but have never floated it.

Any help would be greatly appriciated.

Bill

NolsGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-20-2009   #2

Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 93
How easy? The Milk Run has 100' of whitewater then it is a class II float until Ruby. Also Stone Bridge to Big Bend or on to Salida is just a II with the dam chutes to liven things up a bit in the Big Bend stretch. Salida East to Rincon is also an easy run. Now none of this is a strict float trip, but I have taken my 6 yr old on all of it so I consider it safe as long as you are not stupid about the dam on Big Bend.

The Ark at 700 is not the Ark at 2000+ that those guys died on. A lot slower, warmer, and all the rocks have come out of hiding.
Snowhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009   #3

Lakewood, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000