Suggestions and tips for extended western travel - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 02-17-2015   #1

Wedowee, Alabama
Paddling Since: 2010
Suggestions and tips for extended western travel

My wife and I have been saving for a few years and have managed to take a year off work to travel before we have kids (we are both turning 30 this year). We are from the Southeast and will be living out of a Sprinter type camper van. We will have a Star Slice (similar to a shredder) that we can R2 for doing class 3 to easy 4 runs together. I will have a playboat for play parks and my wife has an IK for when we want to paddle seperately. I have Leland's River Gypsies Guide and will use it a lot on the trip, but I wanted to get any feedback or ideas from this forum to make our trip as fun a possible. I am not familiar with west coast snowpack and the best times to head to which areas. I would define us as mostly class 3 boaters with something like the middle Ocoee or Brown's Canyon being the difficulty that we are comfortable running.

We leave the 1st of April and plan to stay out west until December.

We plan to travel mostly in the following states:

Colorado
Idaho
Utah
Washington
Oregon
California
Montana

Which states would you visit at which time based on the anticipated water levels this year ( we do not need super high water to have a good time, we are just looking for fun, scenic trips on mostly class 3 waters)?

Also, anytips on how to work our way onto any multiday trips?

What are the best playparks to visit?

Paddling will not be the only aspect of the trip, we want to spend a lot of time in the national parks hiking and doing some photography as well.

So.....Buzzards what are some can't miss rivers/towns/playparks/locations for our big trip?

Any information is greatly appreciated.

mikehd1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-17-2015   #2

Buena Vista, Colorado