River running in a creek boat or Creeking in a river runner ?'s - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 02-02-2012   #1

Shelby, North Carolina
Paddling Since: 2012
River running in a creek boat or Creeking in a river runner ?'s

I'm new to the whole kayaking thing, but I've always progressed very fast in everything i've done sports wise over the years. Now i'm wanting to try kayaking. I'm in a delima between buying a creek boat (Nomad or Shiva) or going with a river runner (Remix or Karnali). I'm thinking a river runner might be easier for me to learn in, etc. but i'm hoping to be doing some class 4 creeks by summer of 2013 and hopefully maybe the Green Narrows by 2014. I just don't wanna get the wrong boat for what my plans are and what i wanna do with it. Suggestions or advice anyone?

GosuPaintballer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-02-2012   #2

Beaverton, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2005
The Burn is between the two points, but I wouldn't call it a beginner boat. The Remix should be just fine for creeks. (I see many of them being creeked in the PNW, but our creeks are much higher volume)
brandob9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012   #3

Copper Mountain, Colorado
Get a used jefe. If you can dial in that boat you'll be able to paddle anything.
Cphilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-02-2012   #4

Thornton, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
I would say the thing you want to keep in mind is that "most" creek boats have little to no edges. While river runners do.

The edges allow you to turn much quicker. As a beginner you will need to learn getting in and out of eddies and this is where the edges will come into play the most.

Learning to make sharp eddy turns in a big boat that doesn't have edges will be more difficult.