Pyranha Machno or Waka Tutea? - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 03-26-2018   #1

Bozeman, Montana
Pyranha Machno or Waka Tutea?

Hello all,

I'm looking to buy a new kayak. A little about me: I'm 5'8", 138 lbs, female. I've been paddling about a year and a half, I have a Dagger Mamba 8.1 and a playboat (wave sport project 52). I paddle mostly in Wyoming, Montana and Idaho but occasionally elsewhere. I'm most comfortable on big water (Lochsa upper and lower, Grand Canyon, main salmon, etc.), and less comfortable on the rocky technical stuff (Gallatin, etc). I'm looking for a boat that's easy to boof and easy to maneuver to build my confidence in steeper more technical rivers.

The Lochsa is probably where I'll spend most of my time this year, and there's a good chance I'll do a self support trip on the main and/or MFS and other rivers.

I went to Chile this past fall and got to paddle a lot of different boats on a lot of different rivers which made me realize that I want a new creekboat. There were things about each of the boats that I liked but there were none that I would go buy right now. My favorite was the Zet Toro- I liked the speed and stability and most of all the big bow rocker, but ultimately it felt too big for me. I sat in the Zet Veloc (73 gallons), and decided it was way too small. My friend ended up using it the whole time (she's 5'1", 115 lbs) and she loved it. I also tried a Tuna, which I knew would be too big for me and it was. Next I tried a 9r. It felt like the right size and had the bow rocker I like, but it was so unforgiving. After nearly dying on the Maichin River and losing a paddle and the 9r overnight, I went to a zen, then back to my trusty Mamba, both of which lacked the speed and confidence of the other boats but after my experience on the Maichin I was back to paddling easier water anyway....