Pumphouse to Catamount? - Mountain Buzz

Old 06-07-2010   #1

edwardsville, Illinois
Paddling Since: 1993
Upper Colorado river from Pumphouse to Catamount, please help

I'm looking to canoe the Upper Colorado from Pumphouse to Catamount. How many days will this stretch take? I have been canoeing for about 20 years now and only have experience on Missouri rivers (class I and II). Is this a tough stretch for a canoe? Or would you suggest a raft? Any suggestions for a reasonably priced raft rental? I'm looking to go with a buddy the last weekend in June.

Thanks in advance!

vacca2256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-07-2010   #2

Thronton, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2008
Eye of the Needle and Yarmony are two significant rapids you'll want to be aware of, especially at these flows. They are class III I believe, and you don't want to hit the rock on Eye of the Needle or go into the hole on Yarmony. Eye of the needle also has a second hole after the rock on the right that can catch you off guard. You can run Eye of the Needle either side, I've always gone right, then moved left of the second rock/hole. Yarmony is best run left. It's usually pretty easy to get left early and stay there, then move into the wave train once you are paste the hole. At higher flows, the hole just gets wider, so it can get a bit trickier.

I'm not sure, but I think you could portage both if you had to, especially with a canoe. I never really paid that much attention to that possibility because I'm a rafter and don't worry about it too much in a raft. Square up and hit the line in a raft and no problem... LOL
BoilermakerU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010   #3

Centennial, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1980