PNW Places to Live (for Paddling, etc.) - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-26-2014   #1

Silverton, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2010
PNW Places to Live (for Paddling, etc.)

My wife and I have been paddling for a few years in MN/WI (we live in Minneapolis) and are planning to move to an area with a more active community, better paddling, and a longer season this summer.

Weíve been debating between the Southeast (likely Asheville) and the Pacific Northwest for well over a year, and I originally intended to post a ďSE vs. PNWĒ thread. However, after much research and many emails with the NC Dept. of Public Instruction and some teacher groups in the state, we have all but eliminated NC as an option. Here are some details on the abysmal teaching situation in NC (no offense to those of you in NC) if youíre interested: Pay Cuts, End Of Tenure Put North Carolina Teachers On Edge : NPR. We are both relatively new teachers, so income is pretty limited to begin with. Moving to NC from MN would mean about a 10K (~25%) wage cut for both of us, which is untenable. The surrounding states arenít really that much better for wages, and we really wanted to live in Asheville for the culture, music, beer (!), etc.

Iím open to suggestions for other SE Ďhot spotsí (i.e., fun, liberal, relatively small towns with an active/íoutdoorsyí community), but Iím now concentrating my efforts on the PNW. My question is where? Right now Hood River, OR/White Salmon, WA and Bend are on our radar. We donít want to live in a Ďbigí city, so unless our jobs demand it, we wonít look inside Portland or Seattle. Iíve read every page of the SE and PNW sections of Lelands book, River Gypsies. It was helpful, but it focuses mainly (not entirely) on runs that are beyond our current abilities.

Might be helpful to know a little about us:
- Early/Mid 30ís; No kids
- Class II-III paddlers, though we both aspire for more, and are determined to keep improving