Playboat help - Mountain Buzz

Old 12-12-2013   #1

Castle Rock, Colorado
Paddling Since: 10
Playboat help

I'm just getting into play boating and I have decided that it is time to upgrade from my extremely outdated wavesport forplay which is too big for me. I need a good playboat that Is great on eddy lines holes and waves. I am 5.5 and only weigh 120 lbs so foot space is not an issue for me

trevor4646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-12-2013   #2

Durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 4Eva
We've got a couple used boats that would fit you very well.

2013 Dagger Jitsu 5.5 or a 2013 Jackson Star, both from our demo fleet.

In our opinion the Jitsu is a bit better as a playboat while the Star is a bit better at down river play and all around river use. Both would fit you great at your height and weight.
4CRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013   #3

Steamboat, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
You will have your choice in playboats from every manufacturer. However, I have noticed that the market seems to be 75% jackson in most parks these days. Playboats of today are going to be much different than the forplay, it's spud boats now for aerial moves.

There are a few new (old) designs coming back out much like your forplay that is focused more on river play and old school moves like a pyranha loki. You will always hear people say demo, but if you are looking at current "playboats" they are going to be a radically different paddle than what your used to which might be exactly what you are looking for.

Can't help a ton on your sizing and good fit, but guessing you would be a small in most lines, maybe a medium. Would check out the jackson star series, pyranha jed, or wavesport new one is the mobius I think. Also seeing more and more Fluid's as well. The nice thing about playboats is there are a ton of newer used boats that do not take the beating of normal kayaking available.
kayakfreakus is online now   Reply With Quote