Paddling with pain: Advil, how much is too much? - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 04-19-2004   #1

Laramie, Wyoming
Paddling Since: 1992
Paddling with pain: Advil, how much is too much?

I have a broken rib, this is the 3rd time this has happened to me so I'm getting pretty used to it. It's been about a week and a half since I broke it and the water was up on one of my favorite runs. I wasn't about to let this slow me down. While loading up to run shuttle I'm contemplating how many Advil I should take. I notice on the bottle it says, "do not take more than 6 in 24 hours", so I figure I'll just max out my allotment for today in one dose. That comes to 1200mg of ibuprofrin. It worked, I had very little pain during the run. So how bad/stupid was that?

badkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-19-2004   #2

Seattle, Washington
Paddling Since: 1999
Send a message via AIM to JCKeck1
I'm no doctor, but I can tell you that the long term effects of taking advil are not good. The complete destruction of your liver is a very likely event if you're taking lots of advil over long periods of time. As for the large one dose, I don't know.
JCKeck1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2004   #3

Web Developer/Programmer
I was taking Motrin for my knee and my Doctor told me to take 800mg of over the counter Motrin. He said it was the same as taking prescription ibuprofrin but way cheaper. He also said that taking more than 800mg wasn't going to do much for pain but that it did continue to help for the inflamation. He did also mention that this shouldn't be regular practice but just to get me through a day.
Advertisement

Old 04-19-2004   #4

Boise, Idaho