Outfitters...time to step up - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-10-2007   #1

Outfitters...time to step up

I'm sitting here reading through American Whitewater's accient reports in Colorado. Flipped raft...heart attack, Flipped raft...heart attack, Flipped raft...heart attack, and so on. I've been running rivers for 23 years and have guided for 15 of those. I always had a problem with outfitters charging more for wet suits and booties. When I was younger I hated it b/c that extra 10 or 15 bucks that may have become my tip was now going into my boss' pocket. As I got older and cared more about my guests and my own safety, I encouraged people to get additional equipment.
Let me step back to my first raft trip. 9 years old, (had to tell the guides I was 11 to go) Nenana River Alaska, big water class III/IV, 37 degrees all summer. The gear at that time was a rain poncho, boots and PFD (we called them life jackets back then). Ten years later 2 dead grandmothers on the scenic float, same river. They hit a hole, now known to many as dead grandma hole, got ejected and that was it. No chance to survive. After that an owner of another raft company, Jon White of Nenana Raft Adventures purchased dry suits for all of his customers. He has not had a single death in his company.

My point is that we can all step back and say,"Well, he was out of shape and didn't belong on the river." However, we as guides and outfitters continue to put these people on the river. That's how we make money. It's time for the outfitters to take some responsibilty to protect their customers and guides from rescue and death situations. I understand that our season here does not always warrant wearing a dry or wet suit, but many of our commercial rivers and creeks are as cold as Alaska's waters.

Come on outfitters!!! Let's start to see some required gear on cold days and free gear all the time. I can put a price on a wetsuit, but not on a life. Can you?

Remoteproductions is offline   Reply With Quote