Nose plugs and Nomads - Mountain Buzz

Old 01-24-2015   #1

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Paddling Since: 2014
Nose plugs and Nomads

It's time for me to ditch the nose plugs, how do I get used to the feeling of water rushing in or find a way to block water from getting in without wasting all my air on blowing the water out?

And
I've been eyeing the nomad for a while and am thinking about selling my mamba for a nomad 8.5, I have an older mamba 8.0 that has like 62 G volume so it will just a slight size increase of ~16G to the 8.5... How do the nomads paddle compared to a mamba?

jjeco5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-24-2015   #2

Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
1 practice. You will get used to closing off your nostrils and blowing out any water quickly. Some that are predisposed to sinus infections will advocate for continuous use, but I personally only use them for play boating.

2 the Nomad will take more effort to keep straight and steer than the Mamba, but it will ride on top of the water and resurface easier off bigger drops. I personally prefer the planning hull to the displacement hull.
lmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015   #3

Albuquerque, New Mexico
The main thing I don't like about the mamba is how low it sits in the water and have some trouble keeping the bow dry, I love everything else. Sometimes the stern will sink in the backwash of a hole/wave and catch me up.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-24-2015   #4

Arvada, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2009
love my nomad, and I also paddle a burn 3. the nomad favors an aggressive paddle style, it doesn't carve well, so when Im in my nomad I swing her big ass around, point it in the right direction , and bomb everything. it punches holes great and will go thru just about anything. not the most nimble or agile boat by a long shot though.
Skillkilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015   #5

Vail, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2010