North Gate Canyon? - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-12-2010   #1

louisville, Colorado
North Gate Canyon?

Hey just wondering. Never floated through North Gate canyon. Is it do able in a 16 ft Aire cat? Friend of mine wants to fish that section at the end of June and was askin me if we could get through without much trouble.

sprechen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-12-2010   #2

Unincorporated Douglas County, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005
I doubt there will be enough water at the end of June for Northgate, but you may be able to float the section below the Bennet peaks takeout and above Saratoga. I know they fish that section, but I have no experience in that area.
Old 05-12-2010   #3

Summit County, Colorado
What about Northgate before the end of June in a 16' cat? Will the flows get big enough to take that boat down? We also have a 13' raft. We've never done it and just curious. Thanks for any info in advance. Happy boating!
summitraftgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-12-2010   #4

Aurora, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
I've run it twice, both around 1000cfs, and both in 14' boats. It was no problems at that level. I imagine you'd be able to get a 13' raft down there as low as 500 or so, but that's sheer speculation. It all hinges on your low water experience, and how much you loath getting stuck. I boated the Ark in 2002, commercially running the Royal Gorge as low as 196 cfs, so I have a warped definition of "low water" and "runnable."

As to the 16' cat, when I saw it at 1000cfs it was definitely big enough for a 16' cat. Below that, your guess is as good as mine.

Oh!! Almost forgot- if you have the time, take out further down than 6-mile gap. That takeout SUCKS!! If I remember correctly, it's like a third of a mile straight up a mountainside. The Forest Service has some information posted.

It's a beautiful trip! Good luck!
climbdenali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010   #5