Noobie looking for some advice - Mountain Buzz

Old 03-03-2015   #1

woodside, New York
Noobie looking for some advice

Hey, everybody! So, I've come across this forum a lot by searching things on Google--everyone here seems so informative and friendly, so I figured I would benefit from joining!

So, I am completely new to kayaking. I have done some recreational kayaking before, but nothing serious. I am a complete adrenaline junkie and I love any kind of sport that requires intense progression. I'm usually scaling a building in NYC or bombing down hills skateboarding. This might sound strange, but the first videos I saw of white water kayaking really reminded me of the things I love to do--in a way, they are all kind of similar mentally and physically. I really can't tell you how eager and excited I am to get into this sport. Sometime mid summer, but gf and I want to plan a 3 week road trip where we kayak ( nothing too serious) a bunch of different rivers ( depending on if we are both ready).

So, right now I am looking all over craigslist and Ebay for something cheap. I am about 6 foot, and 160 pounds). From what I have read and observed, the boat I am looking for is most likely a river runner kayak, or a creek boat.

Can somebody kind of tell me the main difference between the two? Which kayak would be best for both intense rivers, and at times just some leisure kayaking on slow easy rivers?

How much should I spend on my first kayak, tops? Once I get one, I don't want to go through the whole ordeal of selling and buying another one later. I'd rather have one, and work with that one for a few years.

Any other advice or what to look out for would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Steveosuburbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-03-2015   #2

Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2005