newby to run Platte from deckers - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-21-2015   #1

sedalia, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2013
newby to run Platte from deckers

I have ran platte to the chute then around the chute to confluence. I am new to the sport and don't know many that kayak. My family kayaks a little with me but are less experienced and I can't take them in the river until it drops and gets warmer!

Looking for someone or a group to run the Platte with from deckers to the confluence.

newguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-21-2015   #2

pnw, Washington
Seems a little on the high side for a first time through the chutes. Good luck.
racerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015   #3

sedalia, Colorado
I skip the chutes this high. tried it last year at lower level and came out upside down. Need more experience for that.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-21-2015   #4

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
We were not as level obsessed when I was a beginner,basically clueless,but we ran it at 1500.That is the level the books say is 3+ and rare.You have a chance to get it at it's best.Go for it ,very fun and a big recovery pool if you get spanked.Just keep it straight a tad left of center (or at least not too far right) and paddle hard.Provided there is no wood you'll be fine.
cayo 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015   #5

Denver, Colorado
a little second thought about telling a beginner to do this..I really don't think you would be hurt if you messed up,but probably should have an experienced boater there so you don't lose any gear..there is a very good recovery pool but this high I suppose it might be tough to get a boat to shore yourself..
Old 05-22-2015   #6

sedalia, Colorado