newbie needs info! - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-25-2009   #1

newbie needs info!

Hello!
My name is Cindy. I'm an inspiring author currently doing a creative writing course, and have decided the main setting for my novel will be a white water rafting trip in B.C. (Kicking Horse River) kayak or raft not sure yet. However I have no experience with rafting and was hoping I could find someone to answer my silly beginner questions. My daughter suggested posting here for help.
I know absolutely nothing about the lingo, the dangers, terms gear other then what I have researched online. I know in Bc they don't allow level 5 or 6? Why is that?
Any help, information anyone could give me would be so welcome. Who knows, maybe after writing about it, I will be ready to give it a try.
Thanks so much

Cindy

nicole2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-25-2009   #2
gh

pnw, Colorado
Quote:
I know in Bc they don't allow level 5 or 6? Why is that?
If you are saying Class V and VI then that would be incorrect. There are many people on this board who run class V regularly. I have seen video of people running class V in BC as well. VI is defined as unrunnable so in that sense, I guess you are right about class VI in BC.
Old 05-25-2009   #3

Golden, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1975
you should just pick up a copy of this book to give yourself a base level intro to it and then you might be able to ask more specific questions later.

The Complete Whitewater Rafter Book

and i think you mean "aspiring" writer not "inspiring" writer...
upshitscreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-26-2009   #4

Fort Collins, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by upshitscreek View Post
you should just pick up a copy of this book to give yourself a base level intro to it and then you might be able to ask more specific questions later.

The Complete Whitewater Rafter Book