Newbie lessons in Denver Metro? - Mountain Buzz

Old 08-13-2013   #1
Total newbie

Arvada, Colorado
Newbie lessons in Denver Metro?

Hi all,

I'm a total beginner looking for recommendations of good teachers in the metro. I live in Arvada. I'm oldish(46), heavy(250#), and out of shape(should be lighter than 210# for my build) but in a past existence, I surfed daily. I need to get back in the water and don't see a better motivation for fitness than kayaking.

I don't have any river experience save for a single commercial raft day on the Poudre.

I've read several posts stating there are good schools and bad schools in the area. I'd prefer a good one.

Thanks!

Bonker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2013   #2

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2002
Dont do it man, boating blows...
k2andcannoli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013   #3

Steamboat, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
I'd recommend Renaissance Adventure guides or Confluence Kayaks that run lessons pretty consistently. If you want to go private I would throw in any of the Downstream Edge guys as well.
kayakfreakus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2013   #4

Denver, Colorado
So very cool that you want to get back into the water. I think any of the local paddle shops would be fine (Confluence/Golden River Sports). What is important is that you want to have fun. Being a reformed landlocked surfer myself, I can say from experience that you are way ahead of many others in that you are comfortable with being tossed around while your head is under water. Enjoy the learning process!
Sitting Bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013   #5

Golden, 80401
Paddling Since: 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayakfreakus View Post
I'd recommend Renaissance Adventure guides or Confluence Kayaks that run lessons pretty consistently. If you want to go private I would throw in any of the Downstream Edge guys as well.