New to whitewater. - Mountain Buzz

Old 03-23-2008   #1

New to whitewater.

Hey fellow paddlers,

i am new to whitewater first off i wanted to buy a play boat which is what i found the right size for my hight i fit but its tight. Which leads me to my first question i went a tested my new play boat out today only on some flat water just to see how it reacts and how it paddles get a feel of things before i get on any kind of river. well heres my issue one i am a tall man 6' 3" so i had a hard time fitting into most play boats anyways. So here was my purchas last weekend i bought a dagger super ego only a few years old i dont know the year. went to the local tidal area. and hoped in no problem well its tight so i had some issues getting in with the gear i had on.which i wasn't properly outfitted with the right stuff considering i have been in a nice comfy ocean kayak for a few years now. but it was only a trial.. so i started paddling up to the creek that flows into it where i know there was some small waves to play in. it should have taken me like maybe 45min to and hour to paddle considering i have been paddling for seven years i figured it wasnt much of a big deal. but it took me an hour and a half. cause i had to keep getting out cause my legs were killing me going dead which they do in my ocean kayak but in this boat they hurt pain fully... so i got out a few times the headwater was only about 2 miles at the most. which would have taken me no time to get to in my ocean boat.... well i got about 3/4 the way and decided it wasn't worth it turned around and headed back. any advice to keep my legs alive or just keep the pain from coming. i hope some of you have the same problems. also how should i be layering on cold weather days. i am a hiker kayaker and snowboarder. so i usually layer in polypropylenes and fleece which seemed to work for a while i didn't wear any dry pants which didn't matter cause i got no water inside my boat.. and i wore my gore tex rain coat ca