New to the area - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-25-2007   #1

New to the area

Hey all,
I am new to the Denver area and was wondering if there were any boaters who would be interested in showing me a few rivers out here. I am off work Friday through Sunday, and comfortable with class III rapids, possibly higher. I have been a guide in WV on the New and Gauley rivers since 2000, but paddling hasn't come that easily for me. I have paddled the New and the Lower Gauley, but not the upper Gauley (in my kayak). If anyone would be willing to help me get more comfortable in my boat I would appreciate it. I can read water just fine, but am not a very aggressive paddler and would like some company on the water. Thanks!

outdoorsgrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-25-2007   #2
White R. BC

Durango, Colorado
Hey Grl, welcome to CO! I am in SW CO but can recomend some links for a new front ranger. Coloradokayakers.com is a good resource for II-III paddlers, mostly from the front range area. Also coloradowhitewater.org has a lot of training and cruises for lots of abilities. Their training camp is May 18-20 on the Ark. If you ever take a road trip this way, my wife and I boat a lot of III-IV. Have fun! Leroy
ag3dw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2007   #3

We've got a good crew and pretty much go somewhere every weekend. Typically a few of us hit up a tougher section and then meet the rest of the group for something III-IVish. We usually depart from Golden or Boulder area Friday night or Saturday morning and paddle as much as possible over the weekend. The girls in the group are always looking for more girls to paddle with, so I know they'd love it, right Tina? We'd be happy to show you around.

COUNT
COUNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-25-2007   #4

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1992