New to Kayaking, Looking for tips - Mountain Buzz

Old 06-19-2012   #1

Denver, Colorado
New to Kayaking, Looking for tips

Hey guys,

I'm new to the Whitewater Kayaking scene. I've done normal touring type kayaking before, but whitewater is a new thing to me. It's been something that I have wanted to get into for awhile.

I'm trying to find the right way to go about this. I've done some research online and it sounds like a good way to get into this is to find a group or club in my local down (Denver) That way I can get proper instruction before going out. Also perhaps meet a few people so I have someone to go with.

Does anyone know of a good group in Denver that offers good training and instruction?

My approach to this was to rent some of the gear, try it out see how I like it. Perhaps there is a better approach but this is where you guys come in. How did you start up?

Ducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-19-2012   #2

Steamboat, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
Your pretty spot on, check out CW for a good club:

Colorado Whitewater - Home

I think Confluence Kayaks and RA Guides both do a good job with teaching and taking an intro course is a good thing in my book:

Kayak and Avalanche Instruction in Denver, Colorado :: Renaissance Adventure Guides

Confluence Kayaks - Denver Kayak Instruction

Pool sessions are a good way to meet people as well, there used to be some at DU and I am sure other places around Denver.
kayakfreakus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012   #3

Denver, Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayakfreakus View Post
Your pretty spot on, check out CW for a good club:

Colorado Whitewater - Home

I think Confluence Kayaks and RA Guides both do a good job with teaching and taking an intro course is a good thing in my book:

Kayak and Avalanche Instruction in Denver, Colorado :: Renaissance Adventure Guides

Confluence Kayaks - Denver Kayak Instruction