New to Colorado - Mountain Buzz

Old 03-26-2008   #1

Denver, Colorado
New to Colorado

Hey everyone, I just moved to Colorado from Pennsylvania. I worked last summer as a guide on the Lehigh River (lameness), and a few times in Maryland at the new ASCI play park.

I just got into Kayaking last year while I was guiding, but was in my boat almost every day last summer. So I am a rookie for sure, but I've paddled a lot in my short history. I'm comfortable running class III-IV as long as they are a little more mellow in terms of creeking.

I'm mostly a play boater/river runner, but wouldn't mind giving creeking a try as long as it isn't too nuts. I currently have a Wavesport EZ, but I am in the market for a full on play boat (preferably a Jackson Allstar). I'm also looking to pick up an AIRE Puma Raft, or something comparable, for when my girlfriend gets out here in June. She isn't keen on flipping over in a kayak, but loves to go rafting. So I want to pick up a raft in the near future so she can get out on the water with me.

I'm looking to meet some fellow paddlers who can show me the Colorado ropes, if you will. I know there is a ton of great white water out here as I have been reading about a lot of it. However, I'm a firm believer that paddling alone is a terrible idea. So if you don't mind spreading some knowledge and meeting a new face, please let me know. I'm itching to get on the water, and look forward to meeting you! Thanks!

Advertisement

Old 03-26-2008   #2

Edwards, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2003
Hey,