Motors - Mountain Buzz

Old 06-02-2012   #1
The Russian

SLC, Utah
Paddling Since: 2005
Motors

Trying to do some research before buying one:

1. Which shaft? The tubes on the boat are 22", so would a shaft of 20" work or do I need to go with a 25" ultra long shaft?
2. How to store a 4 stroke motor? Prop it on it's bracket and throw a line around it or do I need to store it somewhere else during rapids? (Class 3-4)
3. Does anyone have any experience with Tohatsu/Nissan motors? Tohatsu Outboards 6 Horsepower
4. Any other suggestions are welcome, a total motor newbie here.

Thanks,
Alex

kazak4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-02-2012   #2

Westminster, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1999
How are you planning on mounting? A bracket off the end of a round boat? On the frame of a cat? Between 2 round boats? That affects size and storage. The little I've done with motors on round boats, they've always been stowed in a drop hatch during rapids. One of these days I'll get a motor for my cat, and I think it will be okay just propped up but I haven't tried it yet.

Curious what other people think.
asleep.at.the.oars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012   #3
The Russian

SLC, Utah
We are putting it on a 16 foot round boat. Thinking about making a stern frame with a bracket, so most of the push goes towards the frame, rather than the rubber.
kazak4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-02-2012   #4

Riverton, Utah
Funny, Alex, I just recently started doing research on this as well... please keep us updated on what you find out.

Has anyone ever tried mounting a motor off the side of the raft... it wouldn't be pushing in line exactly, but I've seen this done on alum boats before.

DanCan
DanCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012   #5
Boy Howdy!

Colotucky, USA
Paddling Since: 2006