montrose town run? - Mountain Buzz

Old 08-13-2008   #1
God Amongst Men

Phuoc My, Da Nang, THE 'NAM
Paddling Since: 1845
montrose town run?

i know there are not many of you montrovians out there, but anybody in those parts got the beta on a montrose town run? put in @ the 550 bridge @ the ute museum and then..........?

is there good access at CO 90? La Salle Rd? What is the dam like just below the museum?

Gonna be in Montrose this weekend for shopping but thinking of taking the boat, flows say 700 in colona + 900 in the south canal, theres gotta be at least half (if not more) of that total in montrose proper.........any info?

Advertisement

Old 08-13-2008   #2

Redmond, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2002
Hey... I'm a Montrovian... although I'm a rookie kayaker (just got my roll down, yea!).

I just asked a local kayaker, friend today about the Montrose town run... good close practice for me. He said put in at Ute, then take out at either baldridge park or cerise park (new park, west main (CO 90) L on chipeta L into park). I know that you can take out by La Salle, although I'm not sure if it's private property... I see kayakers down their once in a while.

Not sure about the dam, their are signs at baldridge that you must portage but I think its bs... (again, I haven't done it)

I'm not sure about the cfs but driving by it looks fine.

I'd go with possibly on a Sunday run??? If you wanna hang with a rookie!
jwey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008   #3

Duhrango
My brother lives in Montrose and I call him a Montroid. I've heard both.
Advertisement

Old 08-13-2008   #4
God Amongst Men

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwey View Post
Hey... I'm a Montrovian... although I'm a rookie kayaker (just got my roll down, yea!).