mini-max for low water Yampa? - Mountain Buzz

Old 06-12-2013   #1

Jackson, Wyoming
Paddling Since: 1966
mini-max for low water Yampa?

Guessing 800 - 1200cfs (early July).
Current plan is small (experienced) group with a few IKs, a 14' cat (or maybe 16' raft) lightly loaded (no passangers, no dutch ovens) and my mini-max for some help in spreading out the gear support weight. (I would be mostly in IK because I'm new to rowing; letting a more experienced rafter row the mini-max; he may not be IK friendly anyway.)
This would be the mini-max first multi-day. I've got a simple NRS longhorn frame (seat bar and foot bar) with an extra cross bar (got it for an extra seat). I do have a spare oar (no spare oarlocks).
I'm the least experienced but have IKed the Yampa at 2K and I think 7K, so I'm aware of Warm Springs (not the "new one").
See any red flags regarding the mini-max?
I know there is a four chamber rule; mini-max would have 4 if I left a thwart in -- does that count? (many IKs have only 3)
I am assuming I can put dry bags (soft) directly on the floor and rig to flip!
Any thoughts?
Thanks.

johnovice is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-12-2013   #2

Sandy, Utah
Paddling Since: 1997
Not exactly the same, but I took my Hyside 12 footer down Deso in early May at lowish water. Mine is the next size up from your Mini-Max. I use an NRS compact outfitter frame. I carried a small cooler, a dry box, and all my personal gear with no problem. If you keep the gear load in the Mini-Max conservative and balanced, you should be ok. Especially if you have an experienced person rowing it. You might want to use a cargo sling to raise the gear off the floor if the water level is really low. It will be a hoot for sure. I was worried about mine, but it performed great and was a ton of fun. Here's a pic from the trip.
cataraftgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013   #3

Jackson, Wyoming