McDonald Creek/Boating in Glacier NP? - Mountain Buzz

Old 07-27-2006   #1

Seattle, Washington
McDonald Creek/Boating in Glacier NP?

On the way home for our Flathead trip we took the drive up the going to the sun road -- as magnificent as I remember it being.

We did some scouting on McDonald creek on the way back down -- looked like a stellar IV-V creek run with a long II-III section above the creeky stuff. A probable portage around a mini gorge with a sketchy 15-footer at the entrance to the gorge. A two-tiered slide ... 30' or so? Some other fun bedrock ledge drops.

Has it been run? Is it legal to boat in Glacier? We saw some playboats cartopped, but nobody boating ... flow look ideal. we were drooling but couldn't find any info on legality. Way too roadside to try to poach.

slickhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-27-2006   #2

I think its been run as an obvious poach. I don't think its legal. But, I'm not an expert on the area by any means. I've heard that it looks amazing.
Old 07-27-2006   #3

Seattle, Washington
I was able to find a little info here:

"The section of Upper McDonald Creek between Mineral Creek and Lake McDonald is closed to all types of boating and floating to protect nesting Harlequin ducks."

from http://www.nps.gov/glac/activities/boating.htm

Bummer. Some really fun looking stuff in there. Not sure how all the yahoos traipsing along the river are less damaging to habitat than kayaks, but what do I know.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-27-2006   #4

Should be open october through march