looking for nirvana - Mountain Buzz

Old 08-12-2007   #1

santa fe, New Mexico
looking for nirvana

Hey guys - new to the site, but hoping for a little advice. I'm an orthopaedic surgeon from Asheville, NC and am planning to move out west for family reasons. Looking at a few different areas - Colorado, Idaho, California, Oregon, Washington, Montana (pretty specific, huh?). I love to boat, rock climb, and mountain bike. Skiing is a plus. I haven't spent much if any time out west, and am looking for a place with plenty of those options, plus good folks/nice town/city to spend my working days in. Can you help with this broad, crazy question?
Thanks,
Phil

bonedoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-12-2007   #2

Boise, ID - NF Payette, good mtn biking from town, nice weather
Seattle or Bellingham, WA - next to BC.
Durango, CO - best kayaking region in colorado, best season
Old 08-12-2007   #3

santa fe, New Mexico
I've heard a lot of good things about Durango. Are there are lot of options close by? How long is the season?
Thanks
Phil
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-14-2007   #4

Red lodge, Montana
Paddling Since: 1987
Have you given southern Montana a thought? Lots of excellent creeks with no one but you and a few buudies running them. Not the crowds you'll experience in Co. Mountain biking out the door, and the largest wilderness area in the country 2 miles away. Excellent med area here too. I have a good buddy with top surgeons at his practice, that seem to be looking for associates. Just my 2 cents. Email if this sparks interest....Mike
ootek34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007   #5

The good things about Durango: