Looking at crossovers - what size? - Mountain Buzz

Old 05-05-2015   #1

Alpharetta, Georgia
Paddling Since: 2015
Looking at crossovers - what size?

Greetings,

My name is Tina and I am looking into purchasing my first kayak. My husband is an experienced kayaker, and I am rather new at this. We are both looking at Crossovers. Top on my list are the Pyranha Fusion and the Dagger Katana.

We have a mix of river types around here in Atlanta from flat to white water, so it would be nice to have one that does a little bit of both. I don't plan on ever going over class III, and while I'm not quite at that point, it would be nice to have something I can grow into and not get bored quickly.

I am 5'8" and 140 lbs. Both of these kayaks come in two sizes (10.4/10.2, 27 inches and 9.7 and 9.8 25/26 inches wide. What are the advantages/disadvantages of either size? It seems to me that the larger one will be more stable, while the smaller size will handle better, but it's still not clear. I have done a ton of google searches, but can't seem to find anything.

Any help you guys can provide is much appreciated!

RiverNymph is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-05-2015   #2

Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1995
Also look at the Jackson Rogue. Comes in a 9&10 foot version.

Sent from my iPhone using Mountain Buzz

(seven two 0)-298-2242
Dave Frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015   #3

Alpharetta, Georgia
Thank you, Dave. I just realized that the Katana has no deployable skeg, so that model's out.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-05-2015   #4

Jackson, Wyoming
Paddling Since: 1966
For you, go small.
The larges will almost certainly feel too big.
johnovice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015   #5

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2010