Late March Desert Booze Cruise - Mountain Buzz

Old 02-03-2009   #1
bth

Late March Desert Booze Cruise

I live atop a mountain at 10,000+ feet- and even on these days that approach 70 degrees in Denver, the snowdrift outside my front door seems to grow. As a result, now that I've flipped the calendar over to February, my mind is starting to spend more and more time adrift in a desert canyon.

I'm a teacher, and my spring break is late this year- the last week in March into the first week of April. I'm thinking of getting out on a quick float trip for some warmth, but need suggestions- I dont think Deso or Ruby/Horsethief, etc. fairly close to home will be warm enough- esp. for the young kids that I'd be taking, and I'm thinking of heading south.

Any suggestions? Has anyone done the White River...do you recommend it? What about AZ? Is it worth the drive from the Denver area to the Verde or other runs down that way? I feel like I must be missing a "hidden gem" of late spring warmth as a gentle float. Can you enlighten me??

bth is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2009   #2
no tengo

Baytopia, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1876
I have a fam/kids san juan trip/permit for that week but its full already. I think this is the warm gentle float you are dreaming of.
mania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009   #3
Kjirsten

Durango, Colorado
Paddling Since: 05
I don't know if it's a "gem" as it's not at all remote (float through downtown Laughlin at one point), but the Davis to Parker section of the Colorado will be warm, gentle, flowing, and some sections will have cool scenery.

Check out this guide:
http://www.dbw.ca.gov/Pubs/DavistoPa...istoParker.pdf
TakemetotheRiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2009   #4

Golden, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1984