Kayak Trips? - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-28-2010   #1

Williamsville, New York
Kayak Trips?

Hey everyone, so I'm just starting out and am curious about something. When you guys do trips and what not either for the day or a couple days, what do you do at the end? Do you always just have someone park at the end, then go pick them up, bring them back to the start and go from there? That's what I currently do with my flat water yak but the creek we go on is only like a mile from my house so it isn't a big deal. Getting into whitewater, I'll have to travel a lot more to get to the rivers. Its gonna be tough taking 2 vehicles 5 hours plus an extra hour to get to the finishing point plus another hour to get back to the start. Its especially tough cuz we only have 3 people to go with. Are there any other ways going about this?

I'm trying to get my buddies into it but this always is a reason for them not wanting to.

Thanks!

Dan

Rubicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-28-2010   #2

Aurora, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2000
Join Colorado Whitewater:

www.coloradowhitewater.org

DON'T JUST GO OUT AN RUN A RIVER! BAD THINGS WILL HAPPEN. TAKE A LESSON FIRST AND DONT BOAT ALONE!

You really should hook up with a group of boaters and learn the ropes. If you don't want to join the club, then start joining trips here on the trip planner, but make sure you let the other boaters know that you are a beginner and will need their help.

What you are referring to is called a shuttle. Yep, we shuttle . It sucks, and it takes extra time, but it's usually a necessary evil. You can sometimes pay someone to shuttle your car, but its pricey.

Good luck and welcome to whitewater!

Kim

Kim
kclowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010   #3

Salida, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1997
The essence of shuttle & logistics