I have a dream (Pittsburgh newbie) - Mountain Buzz

Old 06-09-2014   #1

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
I have a dream (Pittsburgh newbie)

So, I live less than three hours away from the mouth of the Gauley River, supposedly one of the best whitewater rivers on the East Coast. I think it's pretty ridiculous that I haven't been taking advantage of something like that, so here I am.

I have no whitewater paddling experience at all. I'm going to take lessons at Ohio Pyle, they offer Beginner, Intermediate, and Advanced classes. I plan on taking all they have to offer as my budget and skill level allow. I want to buy a boat, but I figure my lessons will help me figure out what kind of kayak I should get for myself.

I guess I'm just writing this because I'm pretty pumped about the whole prospect of spending the next several months paddling around rivers. So, hey guys, what's going on

tyba is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-10-2014   #2

Get hooked up with the TRPC ( three rivers paddling club)
They have a website and forum but most the activity has moved to a Facebook page. They have a clinic that you need to take this summer..... Turkey Bash...... In Ohiopyle

Not much info on the Buzz for kayaking..... Just a bunch of rafters talking about pooping in boxes and how to build something you can buy for 12 cents cheaper.
nemi west is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014   #3

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by nemi west View Post
Get hooked up with the TRPC ( three rivers paddling club)
They have a website and forum but most the activity has moved to a Facebook page. They have a clinic that you need to take this summer..... Turkey Bash...... In Ohiopyle

Not much info on the Buzz for kayaking..... Just a bunch of rafters talking about pooping in boxes and how to build something you can buy for 12 cents cheaper.
So you're telling me I found my new home?

I'll check out the TRPC, thanks for the tip!
Sponsored Links