Help Finding/Suggestions for a Great Creek Boat for Women - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 04-04-2014   #1

North Conway, New Hampshire
Help Finding/Suggestions for a Great Creek Boat for Women

Hello! My name's Laura. I'm looking to buy my first whitewater kayak, and I'm looking for a Creek boat that would be well suited for my size. I am 5'3" and 120 pounds. I am a beginner kayaker, but experienced ww canoer, and looking for a boat I can grow with. I'd love any insight/suggestions!

LBRiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-04-2014   #2

subaru, down by the river
Paddling Since: 2003
liquid logic remix 59
wavesport diesel 60 or 70
dagger nomad 8.1 (true creeker)
dagger mamba 7.6

You seem to fall right at the top or bottom of the weight range. Most people like to be closer to the bottom of the weight range than near the top, but I'm not sure for a beginner. Your gear will add some weight, and its nice to have the extra volume for steep creeks and multi-day trips. The nomad is one of the best designs ever but I would normally say a beginner should learn in a planning hull boat with some edges to help learn edge control and ferrying, but since you ww canoe you probably understand that? I'm not an expert by any means so hopefully someone else will chime in.
turtle83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014   #3

subaru, down by the river
Paddling Since: 2003
-also demo if at all possible and buying a used boat is a great way to go for your first boat.
turtle83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-04-2014   #4

Silverton, Oregon
Paddling Since: 2010
Maybe check out a Jackson Karma S too.