Family boating noob seeks advice and some random stuff. - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 03-27-2010   #1

Durango, CO
Paddling Since: 1997
Family boating noob seeks advice and some random stuff.

Hey guys...

I've been lurking here for a while, and just officially joined this AM.

I have some amount of river experience...a few years guiding on the Arkansas, some personal trips on the Dolores, Colorado, Animas, etc.

Now though, I'm a family man...two kids about 3 and 6. We just bought a used Maravia 14' and are looking foward (read: super stoked!) about getting our family out on some float trips this summer.

So, knowing we missed permit season...what are some family-friendly floats in the SW? We live in NM and don't mind traveling anywhere in the 4-corners area.

We're looking at multi day (2-6 days?) trips with deep desert canyons and few (if any rapids). Any rapids should be able to be walked by the kids.

We have a trip planned with some friends in September on the lower San Juan (put in at Mexican Hat)...they have the permit.
We've done (pre-kids) float trips on Ruby-Horsethief and will certainly hit that again this year...probably spend a couple nights at black-rock.

What else? You don't need permits on the Dolores right? What is a good resource for predicting flows/releases from Mcafee?

Chama is nearby, and we'll probably get on a trip with friends, or score some orphaned "stand-by" permits on a whim.

Any other float trips in the SW that I don't know about? Salt? Loma?

Also...