Dry Pant - Mountain Buzz

Old 03-25-2008   #1

Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Paddling Since: 2007
Dry Pant

Alright so I'm new to this whole forum thing and it took me days to find the make a new post button but I've got a query for you guys. I'm looking at getting a pair of dry pants but haven't ever had a pair before, I have an IR Comp LX jacket and was thinking about picking up the IR Splash pants. Has anyone used them before and is the only reason they're called splash pants because they don't have the latex gasket at the ankle or are they just not waterproof? It says the fabric is the same stuff they use on the jacket I have, which is wonderful, so I would assume it's the same level of waterproofness. Also any other suggestions for drypants?

cbieh589 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-25-2008   #2
KSC

Boulder, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2003
I think they're good pants, although more $ than some others such as the NRS. I'd go the IR's myself. Yes, the lack of gaskets is why they're called splash pants and not dry pants. Many people think dry pants are sketchy. Imagine water coming into your pants during a swim and not being able to come out the bottom.
KSC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008   #3

Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Paddling Since: 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSC View Post
I think they're good pants, although more $ than some others such as the NRS. I'd go the IR's myself. Yes, the lack of gaskets is why they're called splash pants and not dry pants. Many people think dry pants are sketchy. Imagine water coming into your pants during a swim and not being able to come out the bottom.
Yeah I have heard of people getting their pants filled up and being pulled to the bottom only to shed their pants and come up with only their birthday suit on.
cbieh589 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-25-2008   #4