Damage to gear from pool sessions? - Mountain Buzz

Old 02-20-2012   #1

Denver, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2010
Damage to gear from pool sessions?

Just bought some new gear and wondering if the chlorine from the pool would damage things such as drytops and pfd's. And if you couldn't tell, yeah, I'm a newbie. Just want to get used to everything on while trying to nail down my roll. I'm guessing if I wash it off fairly quickly after that I'm safe but looking for input.

justin_CO_kayaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-20-2012   #2
gh

pnw, Colorado
I always shower with my skirt on enough to rinse it off. I would say to not take the drytop in the pool, the pfd is your choice. The feeling of rolling with your drytop on will be no different than rolling in a pool without it.
Old 02-20-2012   #3

Near water (hopefully), Colorado
Paddling Since: 2008
The chlorine will eat away at your gear. I have random small holes in my pool skirt, and my nose plugs seem to deteriorate after a winter of pool sessions. Don't wear your dry top or your lifejacket.
smauk2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-20-2012   #4

Farmington, Utah
Paddling Since: 2009
I always heard it is bad for carbon fiber.
Flying_Spaghetti_Monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012   #5

SW, Colorado
A Kokatat rep posted advice against using drytops in pools. I would not put ANY Gore-tex or latex in a pool. How harmful the water is might depend on the exact materials used and which chemicals are in the pool (they use different kinds). But always wash things off, regardless.

My neoprene sprayskirt and shorty wetsuits have held up well so far. I rinse them off immediately after the pool session, then take them in the shower with me. Shampooing removes the chlorine.
H2UhOh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by smauk2 View Post