Creeking vs. River Running? - Mountain Buzz

Old 04-26-2007   #1

Nashua, New Hampshire
Paddling Since: 2006
Creeking vs. River Running?

I am new to WW - just wanting to get into it after flatwater with Wilderness Tsunami 140.

Looking at WaveSport Diesel as top, but open to others for both myself and my wife.
What is difference between Creeking and river Running?

I know there are different boats - better at one than the other - but what is the difference between a Creek (requiring a Creeker or creek boat) and a River - requiring a river runner?

I know Big water is basically a very big & wide river,
and Playboats are basically for like ocean surfing/playing (and some playboats for playing on waves on rivers creeks.

So, aside from that - what is diff between river-running and Creek-boating (in Kayaks)?

Thanks.

jaydpiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-26-2007   #2

Bozeman, Montana
Paddling Since: 1999
major differences

there are some big differences when picking a boat just likea pair a shoes! creek boats that are designed speciafically for creeking have displacement hulls more so than planning, if you are looking fora good river runner and not hair boating than a diesel is a very good choice! creekers and most river runners these days have the same options when it comes to safet bars for pulling out pinned boat. check out mamba or habitat if you want more creeker. the differences in hulls are a big part of choosing which boat is best for your style of boating,
caspermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007   #3
White R. BC

Durango, Colorado
Jay, if you are a true beginner, I would recomend taking lessons. That way you can try their equipment and ww before dropping a load of cash. That way you get to start on a good learning curve (one going the right way) some people take a while to get used to being upside down under water and learning the roll. But maybe you already can roll your sea kayak?