Composite(?) slalom kayak repair questions - Mountain Buzz

Old 06-06-2018   #1

Composite(?) slalom kayak repair questions

Hi,

I have an old slalom kayak, written on it is: Peak Concept Sandwich Technology Airex and a sticker on it says: World Cup Final Ocoee '93. So I'm guessing it's some sort of composite and at least 25 years old. I'm just using it paddling around on a flat lake but would like to be able to put it in some whitewater. Just paddling in the lake after about 30 minutes it has about 3/4 inch of water in it. I can't tell exactly which cracks are leaking and which are not, so am thinking about putting one sheet of fiberglass or maybe kevlar(?) on the bottom and then using West Systems 105 resin and 206 slow hardener. Is that as good as any way to solve the problem? I've never done it before but looking at some Youtube vids it doesn't seem too hard. If anyone can suggest any good tuturorials it would be much appreciated. The can says one part hardener to five parts resin. It weighs next to nothing and I don't want to change that, but the leaky business is a bit much. Should a 32 oz can of resin and 7 oz can of hardener be enough to do the job, or hopefully more than enough?

Thank you for any help learning about this!
David
GA, USA

nopeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-06-2018   #2
Ken

Evergreen, Colorado
Paddling Since: 1978
um, don't do that - unless you want to gain a ton of weight on the boat - put the boat on a driveway or deck and fill it with water to start and see where it comes out.

Then put it straight up and do the same thing, and do it to the other end.

After it dries completely out, sand and repair your cracks. Also, go get the West System pumps for that resin/hardner to ensure you have the proper ratio. Heat and humidity will effect the cure time and hardness. The longer the mixed resin is in your mixing pot, the quicker it will set up.