Colorado Kayaking - Mountain Buzz

Old 01-14-2010   #1

Colorado Kayaking

So I'm somewhat new here, so I apologize for the silly question.

I'm new to Colorado and I've been searching for some place nice to go Kayaking and maybe do some fishing. I'm not searching for some rapids or anything like that. Mostly just the scenic view.

So what are some of the best places for a nice relaxing view, and perhaps some decent fishing.

DuckSoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-14-2010   #2

Buena Vista, Colorado
Paddling Since: 93
Fishing? Mainly lakes if you plan on fishing from your kayak. The Colorado in Ruby Horsethief is flat too. Pretty much everything else will have some whitewater on it. Upper C is pretty easy, but there are some rapids that love to flip newbe kayakers.

Ruby starts in Loma, and is usually run as a 2 day trip when flows are low. Upper C is near Kremmling.
Snowhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010   #3

Well fishing is just the icing on the cake so to speak. Really just looking for some scenic rivers to run down. I can hold my own against some minor rapids but that's about it.

Also, what about Gunnison? I've heard that's a nice river to go down in terms of scenery.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-14-2010   #4

There are lots of places you can get mellow riverrunning in Colorado. I don't know what's close to "Nunya," the location you've listed on your profile, but putting your real location would help folks recommend runs for you that you don't have to drive for half a day to get to and could even help facilitate meeting likeminded folks in your neighborhood.

Check out the Yampa above Deerlodge Park, the White River, the Colorado below Newcastle, the Lower Blue. The South Platte through and below Denver, the Arkansas below Canon City may have some mellow boating. Go buy a guidebook. Talk to folks at the local canoe, kayak, or raft shop. Get in touch with canoeing clubs.