Colorado kayakers, Help and advice would be GREATLY appreciated! - Mountain Buzz

Go Back   Mountain Buzz > Whitewater Boating > Whitewater Kayaking

Old 06-01-2016   #1

Golden, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2016
Colorado kayakers, Help and advice would be GREATLY appreciated!

Howdy, I am pretty new to kayaking, I have floated Pumphouse to Radium at 3160 fsp a couple of weeks ago, and that was perfect for my level. My dad is coming out to Colorado on a vacation in three weeks. He used to be a whitewater kayaker in the 60's in Norway, he whitewater kayaked for about 25 - 30 years, but he is closing in on 70 now, and haven't been in a river in about 10 + years. He ocean kayaks every day, but he really wants to go for a river run / float with me, something easy, a class II would be great, He can still Eskimo role, but a nice and calm float would be more fun for us I think. Where could I take him to get a 1 hour to 2 hour float with some fun class II rapids.
Any help and advice is greatly appreciated.. Thanks guys and gals..

Tor

NorwayTor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-01-2016   #2

Longmont, Colorado
Paddling Since: 2004
Perhaps Deckers, Filter Plant, or there is also some stuff below the pumphouse section that is great.
tellutwurp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016   #3

Indian Hills, Colorado
Stone Bridge to Salida on the Ark is stunningly beautiful and mostly II with a few II+ or III- sections at high water. Bonus because you can take out in town and have lunch on the river. If you do this stretch, be aware of the need to take the boat chute to avoid the low head dam (you'd have to be drunk or blind to miss it). If your dad does really well you (finds it boring), you could consider taking him on Browns, which is a big notch up.